Being You…

So, I thought about where to start to get back on track. Oddly enough, I found inspiration from a quote that I stumbled upon. It bridged two worlds. Both my past and Em’s future.

When I was Em’s age now, I fell in love with reading stuff by Shel Silverstein. So for me to stumble across this quote was irony at its best. This particular quote was one that my mom also had found when I was around Em’s age and shared it with me. She taught it to me. She drilled it into me. I find it very heartwarming to know, I’ve taught Em this as well. As well as stressed it to her.

Listen to the mustn’ts, child,
Listen to the don’ts –
Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts –
Listen to the never haves,
Then listen close to me.
Anything can happen, child.
Anything can be.
~ Shel Silverstein

So many times we all limit ourselves because of a label, something someone else has said or made clear what they think about us or even we let our self-doubts stand in our way. We find ourselves in a rut or a comfort zone dreaming of things what we wish or want to do. Or like in Em’s case becomes a need to do. And we don’t or won’t. Sometimes we need that gentle nudge or push.

We become anxious. We fight fear on two fronts – fear of failure and fear of success. The unknown dream or goal will have a known outcome. Regardless of that outcome

Regardless of the outcome, there is an experience to be faced and lived. With Em, every experience contains a lesson for her. Sometimes the lesson is something as small as learning how to cope with the challenges she faces or believing in herself. Others are lessons about trust and learning to let go.

My point is this, ANYTHING can happen. ANYTHING is possible. Unless we learn to quiet those voice and attempt things ~ we’ll never know. For us, try is huge. If you learn something, it’s not a failure. It’s a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

