Don’t Judge

Don’t hide behind your computer screen or tablet or smart phone. Don’t judge me because of a hashtag. The #medicatedandmighty movement isn’t all bad. Some people need to realize that there is more than just medication being discussed here.

It’s about removing a stigma for asking for help. Help needed because of severe anxiety. Like debilitating can’t function anxiety. Help needed for those who are clinically depressed because of said anxiety. Help needed for those who are on the autism spectrum and FEEL so deeply that it actually impedes their functionality. And let’s talk about those who’s depression gets so bad it’s life or death on the line. They need help sometimes too.

The most courageous thing someone can do in those situations is to ASK for help. For some, therapy will help. For some it’s counseling. For some it’s herbal or supplements. For some it’s chiropractics and acupuncture. For some it’s going to be medications. And for others still, like Emelie, it’s a combination of things.

Medication was a last resort. BUT if it helps her and allows her to channel her coping mechanisms, why should I take away an opportunity for her to live her life? Because the person judging me thinks they know best? You haven’t met Emelie then.

She feels what is going on around her. She is in tune with others emotions in addition to her own. She has a good support around her. She has people who love her. She has dreams and goals but finds her anxiety in her way. We do a balanced approach.

Sure she uses medications. LIMITED and LOW DOSES. She also uses supplements. She has had counseling and we are re-adding it. She’s got therapies. She sees her psychiatrist (who recommends supplements and therapies before medicating Em) regularly. She sees her pediatrician regularly (who works closely with the psych per my request as they aren’t even in the same zip code). She sees a chiropractor regularly (who I keep in touch with both the psych and ped). We watch her diet and exercise and make sure she gets enough sleep.

So you see, if you haven’t walked in my shoes of answering a phone to a child begging you to help them or crying in your arms that they need help, how could you understand? If you haven’t watched your child rock in pain because they are overwhelmed by their environment and can’t help them because it’ll add to it, what gives you ANY right to judge?

Best of all… how do you know we didn’t do everything else we could first if all you do is judge and make people feel horrible for doing the best they can with what they have in the confines of their lives?

You can’t. You still will. And I won’t pretend to think you heard a word I vented in this blog. But you know what? That’s ok. Because those who DO get it know exactly why I wrote this.

Get off that glorious white horse of yours and realize, life isn’t black or white. And we are all entitled to provide the medical care that we deem necessary with our doctors of choice and guidance to survive. Even if you don’t like it or agree with it.

#medicatedandmighty #getoverit

3 thoughts on “Don’t Judge

  1. Lyn Goodnight

    Em is incredibly fortunate to have parents and medical professionals who understand. I know NOW that I dealt with depression from the time I was a teenager, but it wasn’t diagnosed until I was nearly 40. I self-medicated from time to time with alcohol, and I lived a sad life thinking I was really crazy. Now that I have been on and off medication (it’s a cycle thing, so sometimes I need it, sometimes I don’t), my greatest suggestion would be that Em needs to know — right now she is in touch with her own feelings. If the day should come that she isn’t, because she’s been on any given med for a prolonged period of time, then it’s time to tweak the med again. Some meds get me to a point of “meh” — nothing is incredibly wonderful, nothing is incredibly bad, just days go by without feeling anything at all. That’s when I re-evaluate and talk with my doctor. So for now, I will proudly stand with Em and say #medicatedandmighty #getoverit. Love you guys!

    1. That’s why she sees her professionals REGULARLY. And she always has the option/choice to stop her meds AS LONG AS she talks to the professionals first.

      While it’s not always fun to have it as a last option, it’s what she needs to be able to learn new coping skills and implement them. Most of her meds are really supplements anyway. But she is on a few prescriptions as well.

      Lynn, you are one of the strongest women I know. The things you’ve overcome and to say: This is what I need to get to that point is courageous. We love you for that.

  2. A. MEN.

    I read the judgmental Tweets from that hippie dippie Jailina or whatever her name was (hey, you don’t mind sounding like a judgmental fool on social media, I don’t mind publicly calling you out on it by name). I’m almost tempted to join Twitter just to read her the riot act.

    Her second post says it all: “What is her story?”

    WHAT??? You started judging her and you don’t even know her story? Let me guess, you’re also one of those idiots who judges a book by it’s title and people by their names, aren’t you? Why concern yourself with such trivial concerns as actually learning anything about the complete stranger you are judging? Then you might actually have to put in some effort. Or, oh, I don’t know…CARE.

    Medications are not all bad. I’m an epileptic. I have to take Depakote every day. This was after trials of other seizure medications – Zonegran, Tegretol, Dilantin, Zurontin, Neurontin, Keppra, just to name a few. When I started on the Depakote, I was taking five 500mg tablets daily, along with Klonopin as a booster, two 100mg pills daily. Through working with my neurologist, I am now off the Klonopin and only taking two 500mg Depakote daily – but I will always have to take that. Why? Because I have been seizure free for over thirteen and a half years now, thanks to MEDICATION. Thanks to MEDICATION, I can drive. I have been an EMT for over 10 years, driving the ambulance, two things I could not do without the MEDICATION. So please, Little Miss I Know Everything About Things I Know Nothing About, tell me all about how I should have treated my seizures with love and counseling and therapy. No, seriously, please do, because I enjoy a good laugh, and nothing makes me laugh more than the chronically stupid trying to defend their lack of knowledge.

    Unlike you, Miss Holier Than Thou, I *have* gotten to know Emelie and her family. How dare you assume that they don’t show their child love? How dare you assume that the drugs have addled Emelie’s brain and that she can’t feel any emotion. Tell you what, Emelie is one of the most caring, loving individuals I know, something I certainly can’t say about you, based on your comments. Perhaps *you* have been on some mind-altering drugs that eradicated your senses of empathy and tact. Oh, sorry, “eradicated” is a big word, isn’t it? Means “wiped out.” “Destroyed.”

    Emelie’s family loves her, and they always put her well-being first. She has friends who love her and would do anything for her, myself included. And she gives love in return. Maybe if you’d spent the time that you used to spout off about things you clearly know nothing about (comparing an entire drug class to heroin? Seriously? What, did you get the Conspiracy Theorist’s Home Almanac and are parroting every dumb thing you’ve ever read from it?) and instead used it to peruse (that means “look at”) Em’s Journey on Facebook or Twitter, you’d see all the love she has to offer. You’d see the amazing photos of Emelie having fun; smiling, running, climbing, thinking pensively, swimming, playing in snow. You’d see her in the theater performances. You see that she helped her mother write a book. A BOOK. You write any books lately? Published ones? Em has. You’d see that Emelie has a VOICE. And she uses it to help raise awareness, not just for herself, but to help others, too. You’d see that, despite all the challenges she faces – challenges you could never imagine – Emelie is an intelligent, caring, incredible girl.

    But you can’t see any of that, because you’re too wrapped up in your self-involved little mission, and you aren’t going to let pesky little things like facts get in your way, any more than you’ll allow getting to know a person to get in your way of judging them. You have some incredibly insensitive things to say about a beautiful young lady. A teenager. Do you do that in real life? If you do, I can’t imagine you have many friends. Emelie does. Know why? Because unlike you, she doesn’t judge people. She doesn’t pretend to know everything. She isn’t rude.

    I wish the world had more people like Emelie in it. But one of her is worth more than a million judgmental little twits like you, Jailina.

Leave a Reply

