An Em Post About Medicine

I sometimes get asked about Em’s thoughts on taking medicines. I’ve fielded that question so often, I decided tonight’s blog is from Em. We wrote this up to tell you her thoughts on the subject.

Emelie’s Post:

I don’t really remember life without taking my meds. But I can tell you what it’s like when I am off them. I feel off. I’m hyper to the point it bothers me. I feel weird and the sensory issues bother me a lot. I’m really unfocused and I know I struggle with sleep on my meds but not as much when I’m not them. I really struggle to get good sleep if I can sleep.

I do remember though talking about me taking meds when I was younger. I didn’t want to take them. I cried a lot. I begged my parents to not give me the meds. In the end though, I did take them. I was not happy about it. I was scared. I didn’t know how the meds were going to affect me.

Once I started taking meds, we hoped all the meds I took would work. Not all of them did. When they didn’t work, we went back to the doctor. We sometimes fixed the meds by changing how much I took and other times we changed the meds. Sometimes it was scary how the meds made me feel, but when I got on the right ones that worked for me, I was able to think better and tell my parents things.

The meds I’m on now work for me. It took awhile to get here. But now I don’t get as overwhelmed as easily. I can think better. I can focus on stuff. I’m not as worried about things. I don’t get afraid of everything. I can work through things that upset me and make me want to cry. Sometimes I still get upset and cry but that’s ok. That’s part of being me.

I still get happy. I still get sad. Sometimes I’m lonely. Sometimes I still get a little scared. I still have feelings. I’m happy I choose to stay on the meds. I know meds aren’t for everyone but sometimes they are the best things for us. They aren’t as bad as I used to think they were. They are just part of who I am.

DSC_0498

2 thoughts on “An Em Post About Medicine

  1. RachellieBellie

    Reblogged this on My Puzzling Piece: A Glance Into A Puzzling Existance and commented:
    Jenn is one of my favorite contributors, and I am in absolute Awe of her daughter, Emelie. Well, a few days ago, Jenn and I were talking about Cassius’s extreme anxiety right now, and different medication options. I told her that Cassius is very nervous and does not — under any circumstances — want to consider taking any medicines at all. They make him really nervous. This is Em’s response to Cassius, which I so deeply appreciate and can NOT wait to read to Cassius (when I pick him up from therapy in a couple of hours!).

  2. Pingback: An Em Post About Medicine | Emelie's Voice

Leave a Reply

